top of page
  • Writer's pictureDusty Ricketts

Catitude

Tigerlily -- cat, grey mostly, but with hints of white and ginger -- begs to go out a lot. I have to put her on a leash as she likes to explore which means she has disappeared for a short time over the wall. Wanting her to have her best life possible I agreed to take her out yesterday. As she enjoyed the warmth of the backyard I saw her sister Buttercup -- a yellowish ginger -- watching from the sunroom. She has been reticent to go out on a leash as if how could I not trust her! and I thought, as she had not been the one of the two hopping walls in the past I'd try her without a harness and leash. She explored a bit while I tried to sit and enjoy the day, but I had to keep a sharp eye out which meant getting up when she ventured too far. Then, Gigi -- the tuxi -- wanted to join us. She slipped past me as I opened the door and I had to go after her with her harness and leash. That meant, briefly, I had two cats off leash and after securing Gigi -- fortunately so far, she doesn't go far when she bolts -- I had to find Buttercup and warn her off the gate. Luckily a car went by in the street which may have helped to convince her, though she does tend to listen when I warn her to stay off things. She ran to the other side of the house. So, there she was where she could go over another gate, but noise made her head back. In the meantime, Gigi and Tigerlily were just enjoying the sun, restful, but alert, near each other. (I hoped they would all decide to go in soon.) Buttercup, heading back from the second gate neared Gigi. A neighbor's gate rattled. Now, odd noises can startle my cats and have got them to go back inside in the past. But in the past I had the sliding door open for them. The door was shut. Funny, I had hoped some odd noise -- nothing dangerous -- would convince them to go in, but I should have had that door open! Funny, a recurring internal conversation had kept running in my head (I think while I'd been out there working earlier) about how the yard workers next door typically arrived on Thursdays. Well, the rattling gate turned out to be the yard workers on Wednesday! The noise must have startled the cats. Suddenly, Tigerlily was hissing at Gigi and going after her. Buttercup was running or airborne. Gigi was bewildered and decided to run, slipping her harness as she is skilled at doing. I start holloring no! Someone looks over the wall. I run after the cats and think to open the door, which may have needed a very slight detour. Tigerlily is the angriest I've ever seen her. Buttercup disappears. Gigi is hesitant on the wall opposite the one the worker peered over. I'm moving cautiously in prayer and I think speaking to the cats. Thankfully Gigi lets me gather her into my arms. I feel a thump to my left hand. Tigerlily was livid. I don't know how I got them both to the sunroom, but Gigi ran ahead and Tigerlily had to wait for me to unleash her with the fastener hard to undo. Maybe she blamed Gigi for something to do with Buttercup, the noise maybe, or something when the two girls were close together. The hissing went on for awhile. Closed up in the house I looked for Buttercup, calling for her and praying and wondering whether to look for her outside. Thank God she showed herself to me twice. Tigerlily rather trapped Gigi in the garage for a bit. I was glad I saw Gigi get water from the bowl before that happened. Gigi seemed quite uncertain with Tigerlily's animosity. I have a bit of a bump/bruise on my hand that I treated with ice last yesterday. Glad the event ended well. I was hoping they wouldn't want to go back outside again. Tigerlily asked today. I told her maybe later.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

People and Pets

How tragic, how empty, how sad, to have suffered in this world without securing eternal life!

Planet of Death

We don't know when our deaths will occur, so let us make sure our names are written in the book of life without any delay.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page