top of page
  • Writer's pictureDusty Ricketts

Must Reads

One of the most influential, beloved writers of my childhood was Sam Campbell "philosopher of the forest." He drew me in from the first page and kept me engaged so well I could and would read straight through to the end. His love of animals, his descriptions of natural beauty, his observations on animal and human characteristics and behaviors vividly entered into my imagination and profoundly affected my outlook, shaping the personhood of what is "me." He wrote of his face to face experiences with rescued wildlife he raised, of wildlife he encountered in his adventures. He showed brilliantly how good, kind, gentle, hilarious, and inquisitive animals could be and very gently revealed that some ugliness existed. Always, he was kind. I learned of Inky, Salt, and Pepper, the orphaned porcupines that were free to return to the wild and yet would interact with him even in their wild states, especially Inky and Salt. I found joy in reading about teeny, tiny Eeny, Meeny, Miney, Mo, and Still Mo, the red squirrels that were brought to his island in a boat in a storm and kept him and his wife in stitches and helped a soldier visitor face his trials in the second world war. Yes, Mr. Campbell wrote decades ago, back during the age of that horrible time in the history of our world and afterwards, but his ideas, ideals, and love for all life are not outdated. He wrote an in such an uplifting hopeful manner! His work is relevant and needed today. As bad as life can get sometimes, we don't walk this planet alone. There are other creatures suffering along with us. Getting to know them, even in the pages of books, reminds us of the Creator, of His love for us, of His intent of a perfect world where all live in harmony and love. I invite you to find copies of Sam Campbell's twelve book Forest Life series. In their pages you will fall in love with Bobbette, Fiddlesticks and Freckles, the deer. You will laugh about the year of "no baby animals" when suddenly they find themselves the caretakers of a baby skunk, fox, deer, and puppy! So many other characters, human and animal, will tug at your heartstrings as you read. These books were an incredible shaping influence on my life as a child, and I think on my writing abilities, and helped to grow me into the person I am today.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

People and Pets

How tragic, how empty, how sad, to have suffered in this world without securing eternal life!

Planet of Death

We don't know when our deaths will occur, so let us make sure our names are written in the book of life without any delay.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page